catapult magazine

catapult magazine

discussion

discontentment

CaptainBako
Sep 29 2002
07:52 pm

At the end of Ecclesiastes, the Teacher concludes that the purpose of human life is to “fear God and keep his commandments (Ecc. 12:13b).” I understood his explorations of meaninglessness in a life without God, but I felt like his conclusion never promised a pleasurable life. A content life, yes; but the description seems dispassionate to me, and as such difficult to understand as meaningful.

When I finish reading the book I immediately envision myself waking up, drinking some coffee, stepping out into the world and walking on my two feet to FearandObedienceWorks, to my unending job, where my occupation is loving God and my neighbors, and not coveting, etc. And the Teacher leaves me without answers to my questions: “Why work here? To what end? What is the meaning here that is lacking elsewhere?” I guess I have to wait for the meaning, to trust that obeying this duty is the best way to conduct my life.

Realistically, currently, I don’t do this job very well. I have a feeling no one honors this duty perfectly, but in my own lazy, distracted attempts, I wonder about why I need to keep at this day in and day out. It’s difficult, tiresome labor. I sacrifice each day on this Earth that I give to this job. I can’t see for certain how much good my work is doing for other people. I cannot see how I’m getting paid, or if I’m getting paid. Or if I need to get paid; if I deserve it.