catapult magazine

catapult magazine

discussion

a theology of art

Kursonis
Apr 13 2005
09:59 pm

Hi, this is Jeff Kursonis from Communion of the arts. I thought I would bring some clarity and definition to certain things I meant in my post, which Laryn so thoughtfully quoted.

I am an artist who is now becoming a pastor to artists. As people of faith, everything we do comes out of our theological beliefs, whether we have fully formed and expressed them, or whether they are just kind of there within us.

I grew up in my faith in an American Christian culture where art was ignored, or divided into sacred and secular, with the secular being almost entirely banned. When I found myself drawn to become an artist and eventually moved to New York City to pursue it full time, I realized that I had a lot of thoughts and beliefs about art that came from my past, but that my present was challenging those and I also saw a lot of others around me with the same struggle. The essence of the struggle is that we felt forced in the past to make sure clear Christian themes were seen in our art, or we were deeply discouraged from going in certain directions. We felt our hearts within us leading us in some of those directions, and so felt an inherent internal struggle and tension, and a desire to not have to mention any Christian theme in our art if we didn?t want to. (so you can be sure I?m not a theologian trying to box artists in)

This whole life experience caused me to begin to think about art, to ask many questions; what is art ?, why is it something that humans seem to do through all time and cultures?, what does God think about it? Did God make it? Does God want us to do it? Does God have any guidelines concerning it? Etc. etc. etc.